The Weston Library (formerly the New Bodleian Library) was designed by Giles Gilbert Scott and completed in 1940. In 2012 it closed for refurbishment and re-opened in 2015.
The Library has been completely modernised and includes for the first time, new public spaces so that visitors can enjoy the free exhibitions, displays, café and shop, and also discover the treasures that are held there. Talks linked to the exhibitions take place in the on-site Weston Lecture Theatre.
Above and below ground, new state-of-the-art storage, houses rare books, archives, manuscripts, music, ephemera and maps covering the period of the third century BC to the present.
Across the road and into the Old Schools Quadrangle, is the Old Bodleian Library, the original historic centre of the Bodleian Library. Between them, The Weston Library and the Old Bodleian Library hold the second largest collection of manuscripts and archives in Britain, including the complete works of Shakespeare, manuscripts by Jane Austen and four copies of Magna Carta. A tour of the Old Bodleian Library can be booked.